A Different Kind of Poetry

I came up with the idea of integrating my own words between lines in a song. Any part of the song, placed anywhere. I hope you like it. *ahem* (Song taken from: Story of Us by Taylor Swift)

Now I’m standing alone
I want to be near you, yet
In a crowded room and we’re not speaking
Ever since the first day,
We’ve stood on opposite sides of the tree of life

And I’m dying to know
Is it killing you like it’s killing me, yeah?
Tormented by my strong feelings for you,
Yet fearing those same emotions

I don’t know what to say
I linger silently over the note you gave me,
Never revealing anything

Since the twist of fate
I bite my lip whenever you laugh at me,
And hold my breath when you hold my eyes

When it all broke down
My stone wall of emotions crumbling under that gaze
And the story of us looks a lot like a tragedy now.

Leave a Reply

