Chisel at my Soul

[Song taken from: Lose my Soul by Toby Mac]

The paparazzi flashes,
I’m scared of the dark,
And that they think that it’s you,
But you’d never know.
But they don’t know that who you are is not what you do,
I am intelligent, but I’m so much more than a smart mind
True, we get it twisted when we peak at the charts,
Society warps me into a different person than I was before
Yo before we part from the start,

Where’s your heart?

You a pimp, hustler? Tell me what’s your title,
Your title holds no value to me. I make my own name and won’t answer to yours.
America has no more stars,
Those stars that I made wishes on, leaned on for strength,
Now we call them idols,
Now they’re tools to chisel away at me, the real me.
You sit idle,
I don’t want to be a bystander,
While we teach prosperity,
Watching while the morals our country was built on get brainwashed away,
The first thing to prosper should be inside of me.
I want to be my own hero.

Leave a Reply

