Death Signed

At first it was great
Someone to talk to
Someone who listened
To listen to.
But that was at first.
When we weren’t together so much
Around as much
Friends as much.
Somewhere along the way,
Somehow one day,
You wanted more.
You wanted me as a friend
Best friend
Sister.
It was too much.
Being with you became too much.
No longer was it the slow approach
Of two different animals
Contemplating friendship.
It was a struggle each day
To smile genuinely.
I indulged you.
Like one would a child
Who holds a gun,
Trigger finger ready
Ready to shoot anyone
Everyone.
Now when I say it’s over
You turn the trigger
On yourself.
A warning to me.
To say that you own me?
Now I realize
You never knew me.
Because if you did,
You’d never
Threaten
Me
With
Death.

Leave a Reply

