Dance (For Me)

​I could hear your heart,

Racing alongside mine

But racing toward another.

All I wanted

Was to see your eyes light up on mine

To see you remember that time as a I did.

But I’m rhyming now

And that won’t do

So

No more swaying

No more chill

I’ll beat the drums with my feet

Let the guitar play in my blood

Rend the silence

With the crescendo of my voice

Dancing alone

Letting you go

No easy love,

No taking it slow

I’ll burn the records

Drown the CDs

Dance all night

Finally alone.

Leave a Reply

